Love is love

Great strides were made for love yesterday.
Washington, Maine and Maryland all passed amendments to their state laws that will allow same sex marriage to take place. Minnesota voted not to ban same sex marriage. I don’t know if that’s necessarily the same as being for same sex marriage, but they’re not against it and that’s a step in the right direction.

Mr. G is white which I’m sure I’ve stated. Our marriage wasn’t legal nationwide until 1967. That’s 45 years ago. While the plight of same sex marriage doesn’t apply to me I can’t just turn a blind eye to it. That could easily be me you know? If you can’t remember history then you’re doomed to repeat it. Not to mention it just seems heartless to say, well this issue has been handled as far as it affects me so let me just go on my merry way. That could be me. That could be anyone who has ever loved someone a different color than themselves. It’s important. It’s so so so important.

Leave a Reply

