That’s not fucking helpful

I told you so is not fucking helpful.

What does you being right do for my situation now? Does it make me go back in time and make a different choice? Does it make what I have to deal with now any easier? Does it make it hurt less?

No. Fuck no.

All it does is give you the illusion that the way is paved so that you can tell me what to do with my life and watch me do it. And why do you want this? Because all you can see behind you (or in front of you depending on the person) is fucked up shit where you wish you’d done something different. And you can’t because that’s not how life works. And so you latch onto people who appear weak and try to tell them how to live their life because you didn’t get it right the first time but maybe, just maybe you can get it right with someone else.

I’m not weak. You can’t live my life. You made choices just like I did. You want to make me feel better? Tell me you’re just as angry as I am that I hoped with all my might and still wound up empty handed. Try to side/identify/get to know my anger. Don’t go straight to the sadness and for damn sure don’t go to “I told you so”.

 

Fuck your “I told you so”.

Leave a Reply

